3rd Trimester
Options

Sick of hearing the horror stories and that I'm crazy for my Birthing Choices....

So I have decided that I want to try having a Water Birth, at first I didn't think that this was that weird of a choice until I decided that I wanted people's opinions on birth since this is my first time and I'm super nervous. I want to try and have a natural birth and I love the water and how calm it makes me feel so i thought it would be a good idea for me but now I keep hearing everyone's opinions on how crazy they think I am for wanting to try this... 

All of my in laws keep telling me how painful labor is and that I should have an epidural and how if I can't take the pain how it might be to late while i'm in labor to change my mind. And if that isn't bad enough i also get the whole story about how gross a water birth sounds and how messy giving birth is and how i will be sitting in a pool full of my own blood and everything else.... I try to explain to them that if it was that unhygienic the doctors wouldn't allow water births to begin with but no one listens.

This is my first baby and I have no idea what to expect in the delivery room but I really wanna try a natural birth it's just really hard when it feels like I don't have any support for my decision. I also really wanted my mother in law to be in the delivery room as my own mother passed away recently and I really want that motherly presence in the room with me but I'm not sure how this will work if she isn't on board with my Birthing plans, and yes I know plans don't always go how you plan them. I'm just not sure how to talk to them about shutting up because i think they are just making this ten times scarier than it has to be. I don't wanna go into the delivery room expecting the worse I'm already plenty terrified without anyone's help!