August 2013 Moms

Question for baby wearing moms

I use my k'tan a ton with LO but I am looking into getting a wrap so I can wear him on my back. 2 questions for you experts:
-what size/length do I need? I am an XL in shirts. Or how should I measure?
-what are your favorite wraps?
TIA

Re: Question for baby wearing moms

• LBibLBib member
    I'm not a wrap expert but the mums on Thebabywearer forums are. I've generally seen most experienced wearers recommend size 4 or 5 for novices https://www.thebabywearer.com/forum/index.php?s=1465395d968f5c91c0a9260cf511af2f
    image AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • I'm no help, but @RoosterMemphis‌ may be :)
  • Loading the player...
  • I love my girasol wrap.
    Lilypie Maternity tickers

<3 Mama to 2 girls - H&I <3
  • Thanks @LokiLahve‌ I was going to tag @RoosterMemphis‌ when I typed it and then forgot.
  • @lindsey61811‌ thanks! And what length do you use?
  • I'm fairly new to babywearing as started with LO. A size 6 or 7 would probably be best for a starter size. Both hubby and I can use size 6 and it's good for the starter back and front carries. I'm rather petite at 5 feet and wear a size large (slowly moving back towards medium). Hubby is 6 feet and wears a size large in mens. I find the 6 a bit long sometimes but it was great to learn on. I think a size 4 or 5 would be really short and hard to learn on. You wouldn't have as many choices for carries and the comfier ones need the length. Here's pictures of both hubby and I wearing a 6.

There's quite a few baby wearing groups on Facebook that can help too. Babywearing on a Budget is great place to look for a first wrap that's not too expensive. The Babywearing Swap is a big one too. And there is a new group called Everyday Babywearing for chat and questions about baby wearing :)

Hope that helps!
    **July Siggy Challenge**
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• kkay1982 said:

@lindsey61811‌ thanks! And what length do you use?

Lilypie Maternity tickers