Breastfeeding
Options

Weaning...

How does it work? LO is 9 months and EBF. My goal was to nurse for one year which isn't too far awayn... I'd appreciate any advice you might have! TIA

Re: Weaning...

• Options
    here is a bunch of info. however, you might want to wait and see how you feel at a year. BFing just gets easier and and more rewarding the older your LO gets, so you might end up wanting to nurse for longer than you initially thought.
  • Options
    My LO self weaned so I might not be much of a help, sorry. But you can try reading this. Kellymom helped me a lot. https://kellymom.com/category/ages/weaning/
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    pb_bridepb_bride member
    edited February 2014
    how often does your LO nurse right now? Dose s/he nurse on demand or on schedule? Does s/he still nurse MOTN?

I am SAHM and I EBF too.  I have been nursing DS on schedule for several months, and he was nursing 6x/day when he was 8m and 9m old.  When he turned 10m, I dropped him down to 5 sessions/day.  At 11m, I went to 4/day. After he turned 1 (and was started on a few oz of WCM without any adverse reactions), I went to 3/day.  I wasn't rushing to wean him off completely at 1 year (we weren't ready emotionally at 1 year), so hence my slow weaning approach.  He is now 15.5m and we are down to 1x/day in the morning.  I probably will completely wean him in March.

Anyway, I think it's fine to have some sort of idea in your head in terms of what you'd like to do (how fast to wean and when you want your LO completely weaned), but you may change your mind several times before your LO gets to 12 months.  GL!

ETA: if your LO still nurses MOTN and/or have a nurse-to-sleep association, it is probably a good time to wean him/her off that.  And I honestly think it is a good idea to start nursing on schedule instead of on demand.  DS barely put up a fight when I dropped his sessions.