November 2013 Moms

Working moms come in..

Working moms!!!! I'm new at this.. At what point do you stay home from work when your child is sick???..

Matthew has a cold and he's still happy as a clam, just coughing and congested. I figured he's fine. He's with another mom who's caring and I know he's in good hands. But I'm second guessing myself..

Re: Working moms come in..

• Here's how I see it... The daycare people can handle babies with colds... I can't... it breaks my heart..

Our plan is to keep him home when he has a fever... we did pay bukoo-bucks for daycare after all...
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I'm the only one who's gotten sick lately! I've missed almost a full week of work because of those cute little daycare germs :-) LO has not been sick at all, so I really can't give any advice based on experience, but I can tell you that I will use ANY opportunity to stay home with her! For example: I purposely scheduled her 4 month shots for 9am so I wouldn't have to take my sore baby to daycare.

• Loading the player...
  • I personally would stay home at the first sign of him being sick, only because I have 70 sick days saved up. I guess it would differ if I had less. Knock on wood he hasn't been sick yet.
  • I'm part time so if I want to have off for a day I'm scheduled I have to use vacation time.. He doesn't have a fever.
  • Unless she has a fever, I send her to daycare.

#LOLFITMAMA
  • As long as he seems happy, DC is cool with it. and he isn't running a fever, I would go to work.

For me, I would live to be home for every cold but it's just not realistic. I used up all my PTO for maternity leave.

This is my theory as well. I still have 5 sick days but that isn't very much considering it's only February.
  • I know this may sound terrible, but we only keep the kids home if there is fever, stomach virus, or are sick enough that they are not acting themselves at all.