LGBT Parenting
Options

AW: Change in protocol - whatcha think?

Hello everyone!  I just had a consultation with my doctor and she wants to change my protocol since 3 IUIs with 150 mg of Clomid didn't do the trick for me yet.  She wants to put me on Femara for CD 5-7, and then do Follistim from CD 6-8.  I've never used either medication before... She said she thinks the egg quality will be better on Femara and Follistim will give me an extra boost.  Risk of twins is around 15%, which I'm okay with.  If it happens that way, I'll be happy, actually.  I've got a pair of mothers who are desperate for grandkids so we won't have a shortage of help :P

Anyway, has anyone else done this before?  How're the injections?  I don't know how I feel about stabbing myself in the tummy for 3 days :( I realize many of you have done worse and I shouldn't complain.  I'm grateful my doctor is willing to take a more aggressive approach but I just don't know what to expect.

Re: AW: Change in protocol - whatcha think?

• Options
    I have no experience with Follistim, but am going to make the jump that maybe it is similar to Gonal-F. If that isn't true, please, someone correct me. If it is similar, the injections are no biggie. You will barely feel a thing for the most part. My Gonal-F needles are very small. It is my understanding that injectables help increase egg quality.

I'm glad you were able to formulate a new plan. Gonal-F also comes with a 20% chance of twins. We decided from the beginning that we would be ok with that. I know that risk it isn't for everyone though.

Me: 30  DW (aka C): 29

Together since 2/15/11 ~ Legally married in NY on 9/29/12

***CP mentioned***

We've been working on baby #1 since July 2013 using Open ID donor sperm.  8 IUI attempts with 5 actual IUIs and one chemical pregnancy.  We have one fresh IVF cycle under our belts as well as a FET.  I have endometriosis and a uterine septum that was corrected via surgery in November 2013.