2nd Trimester
Options

Tylenol news?

https://www.latimes.com/science/sciencenow/la-sci-sn-tylenol-pregnancy-adhd-risk-20140224,0,2353473.story#axzz2uLc5pS2B

A new study reports that the children of women who took the drug during pregnancy were about 40% more likely to be diagnosed with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder than children of mothers who took none.

While I copied in the headline, there is definitely more in the story and probably worth a read.

Thoughts?
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Tylenol news?

• Options
    I call BS.
  • Options
    I would have posted some of your other excerpts from the story, just didn't want to take up a ton of space with my OP. Thanks ladies, for rounding out the details.

I'm confused by how this could be considered fear mongering. Would it be better to not report the results of a 15-year study that found a significant link to ADHD? (I'm no expert, but 40% seems like a pretty big number). Also, from what little I can glean from this news story about it, they admit to the limited findings of their study.

FWIW, in the same TV news story, I heard a recommendation that women have their ovaries removed if they test positive for a particular genetic mutation. In comparison, a recommendation to limit your use of Tylenol to when you really need it seems pretty tame.

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    If you think about it, just about every pregnant woman out there has taken Tylenol for one reason or another during their pregnany as it the only thing we are really allowed to take. Combine that with the fact there is no definitive test for ADHD and this article holds no water.
  • Options