Blended Families

q: letter I received today NBFR

I received a letter today from a debt collection law firm with whom I settled matters last year. The issue was that they could not verify the debt as mibe and I would not pay or acknowledge it unless they did because I remembered no such debt. I have never received anything from them in regards to the matter since it was dropped. This matter is not on my credit reports. I have nothing else outstanding to anyone.

Anyway, I received a letter that is really a copy of court communication dated January 29th. I'm going to paraphrase it.

"Dear Clerk:

Enclosed are tge original and copies of our proposed Order of Dismissal in regards to above referenced matter (of which I have no knowledge, I am listed as the defendant and since content I have never heard of is the plaintiff). Blah blah..... Have a judge review and sign if he will..... blah blah.... If there are costs due on this account, please remit the final cost with the copy of this Dismissal so that payment can be sent promptly. "

Then the second page is a court Order of Dismissal saying "the plaintiff hereby gives notice of Dismissal of all matters of controversy in this matter. It is ordered, adjudged, decreed that the above styled and numbered cause shall be dismissed without prejudice. And the cost shall be taxed to the plaintiff. "

Can someone tell me what this means?

I would rather not have to deal with the law firm again. Do you think it would hurt to call the clerk? I thought this whole thing was resolved. I don't want to be in trouble for something I don't believe I owe. Does it sound like they voluntarily dropped it or that a judge forced a dismissal?

Re: q: letter I received today NBFR