January 2013 Moms
Options

Snoooooow!!! Lets hear your stories!

Las135Las135 member
edited February 2014 in January 2013 Moms
Just wondering how all of us East Coast Ladies are weathering this storm!!! I personally love it, but then again I love winter and cold weather in general.  I am an ER nurse, so i'm considered an essential employee (boooo!), and DH is a Fireman so he is as well, so there was no calling out or cancelled work for us. I stood outside the hospital ambo entrance watching the large flakes falling down, piling up higher and higher in front of my car.  The plows going up and down the parking lot piling more snow in front of my bumper. I got off work this morning and luckily my relief showed up so I wasn't forced to stay since i'm off for the next three. After shoveling my car out with a cafeteria lunch tray, I had to drive home in over foot of snow..... and it was glorious! It was so quiet, no other cars on the road, No beeping of cardiac monitors, no screaming patients...  just me and white fluffy road, slipping and sliding, and not a care at all. It was so peaceful driving home. Then the snow stopped all day, and we were able to dig ourselves out a bit, and go pick DS up from my parents.  Oh how I missed him so.

But then tonight at 7 it started again with a vengeance, and is currently piling more snow on us.  I however, am sitting in my living room snuggled up with my pitbull next to the fireplace with a bottle of wine, actually make that 2 bottles. DS is soundly sleeping upstairs, and Hubs is on the other side of the couch lounging out after a long day of shoveling, and knowing he will have to do it all over again tomorrow!!! 

I send a huge thank you out to all the men and women who work to clear the roads for us to travel, and all the doctors, nurses, firefighters, police officers, paramedics etc. who selflessly travel out in this mess to take care of our love ones. 

What did everyone else do today! I wanna hear some fun stories!