Preemies

Looking for Advice

Hello, my name is Jennifer.  I am currently 25w2d pregnant with my second child.  However, DS is 13.  At our 20 week A/S, my regular OB found a mass coming off my daughter's tailbone.  It's a saccrococcygeal teratoma, and it will be removed once she is born.  We have since been seeing an MFM along with our regular OB.  At first our goal was to get to 35 weeks.  However, at our appt today, our MFM noted an increase in amniotic fluid.  Not much, but still some.  He's not overly concerned.  Her heart still looks good which is a big concern, but she is developing PACs, which is not uncommon in babies (according to my MFM and my regular OB).  My MFM is now looking at 30 weeks being our new goal, and I'm just wondering what to expect with NICU and preemies in general.  Any advice and thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Re: Looking for Advice

• Thanks so much.  I'm a nurse, but this is a whole new ballgame for me!
  • Loading the player...
  • JennyOR30 said:
    Thanks so much.  I'm a nurse, but this is a whole new ballgame for me!
    Gotcha. So maybe you can already understand the fancy machines, then :) 

I'm not new. I just hate The Bump. 

• I also follow peekaboo icu on facebook. They have advice, and encouragement. Just know you're not alone. The nicu may make u feel really alone.
  • Hi, Jenny!
    and a preliminary "welcome" to this board.

This group has been so helpful, supportive, and informative for me, even though I thought I was a seasoned veteran before I landed here.

My little guy was born at 30weeks 2 days on Dec 9 due to pPROM at 29w6d.

Yesterday he was 8 weeks old and we are still in the NICU. But we are on track to hopefully be sprung by his due date on Feb 15. Our current hurdle is getting him strong enough to PO feed longer than 15cc's, and he has severe reflux that is being treated to help with that issue, too.