Babies: 3 - 6 Months
Options

Dry cracked hands from washing

Does anyone have severly dry skin and cracking on knuckles of hands from using hand sanitizer and washing? Does anyone know of some good moisturizers that have worked for you for severly dry skin? It has gotten to the point where washing my hands is painful.

Re: Dry cracked hands from washing

• Options
    Yes!!! My hands are so dry they crack and bleed! The only thing that has worked for me is corn huskers lotion. Seriously a life saver for me! 

BFP1- 2/21/2013- L was born 10/25/2013!
    BFP2- 4/18/2014- F was born 12/29/2014! 

• Options
    Yes! I work in a hospital so I wash or use hand sanitizer constantly! I like the hand sanitizer that has moisturizer mixed in. I also put on bag balm or aquaphor especially overnight to let my hands heal. And drink lots and lots of water!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    This stuff works wonders.
  • Options
    Mix aquaphor with your hand lotion
  • Options
    I use this and love it. DH started using it, too. All natural, fair trade, and local (to me). https://www.alaffia.com/store/pc/Lotions-c15.htm
    Boy 10.6.13
    Labored at freestanding birth center using hypnobirthing techniques
    Delivered via csection
  • Options
    I just have bottles of lubriderm by the changing table and at all our sinks so I can apply it as soon as I'm done washing my hands/sanitizing.  I also keep a bottle at my desk at work.  Seems to work.
  • Options
    We don't use sanitizer in our house (it's not as effective as soap and water and is contributing to the rise of antibiotic resistant bacteria) but constant bottle washing has made my hands a disaster. Plain ol' coconut oil after a hand washing or right after my shower has helped a ton. Sweet almond oil is another good one.
    Six years of infertility and loss, four IUIs, one IVF and one very awesome little boy born via med-free birth 10.24.13.
  • Options
    I was also going to suggest corn huskers!