Babies: 3 - 6 Months
Options

Teachers: have you been able to successfully pump at work?

I am a third grade teacher expecting my first baby in May. I do plan to keep teaching in the fall, and strongly desire to breast feed for a year or more. I'm not entirely sure how I will manage to pump enough to keep up my milk supply in my current job. One reason is, I'm not sure yet how often I would need to, in order to mimic the baby's feeding schedule. Is this something that totally varies with each child, or is there an estimate I can use when approaching this with my employer? Baby will be about 3 months old when I start. I would need to be done with the morning feed by about 7, and then there is no recess until 10:40-11:00. Then lunch from 12-12:45 although, I am in a small school with no cafeteria and my kids eat in the room with me for the first 15 minutes, then go out to recess. I then have a half hour free, unless it is my one day to do recess duty, or if it is an indoor recess, which happens a lot in the winter. I have one day a week with no prep time, and the other four days have one prep each afternoon, either sometime between one and two or between two and three. Or school is small enough that I may be able to ask that they schedule this at the same time each day, if that would help keep a better milk supply. I am done at 3:45. We do have a small staff of teachers aides that might possible be able to take over during that recess time or lunch if necessary, but I'm not really sure what my rights are and what I can ask for. I can see pumping at work being a good option for many professions, but I'm just not sure if it will work for a teacher...we barely have time to run to the bathroom, let alone take out 15 minutes a few times a day! Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks!!!

Re: Teachers: have you been able to successfully pump at work?

• Options