High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

Any one else in second trimester with soft short cervix?

Hello I am new to The Bump well I had been on it with my first but forgot about this time around but looking for maybe someone who is in a similar boat to me who may have more answers than I have.  I had my 18 week u/s and everything looked great the following weekend I started feeling uncomfortable with some spotting and cramping.  Went to the doctors on that monday.  They said baby and placenta look good but cervix is soft and measuring slightly small at 3.4cm.  They put me on light duty (which is not agreeable with my career as a physical therapist) and want me to come back in 2 weeks (1 week from now).  I was super scared for the first few days but the spotting has stopped and I feel fine it is hard to remember to not over due it including not picking up my 2 year old.  Anyone else have similar symptoms or signs.  I have read about cercleges but I feel like I am sorta late (20 weeks) and maybe not at risk enough for one?? any info about any of this would be great THANKS so much. 

Answers

• Options
    I dont think your too late for a cerclage, i had mine at 22 weeks, but your cervical length is still long, i think they consider interventions after 2 cm. Did you have problems with your last pregnancy? Cervical softening is concerning when your early because it might suggest that your cervix is gonna start thinning out and then effacing, dilating. I really didnt have any signs of a short cervix it was only caught via U/S and my length was at 0.5cm.
  • Options
    It isn't too late. My first pregnancy, I went in at 19w for spotting, and I turned out to be 2-3cm dilated. They attempted a cerclage the next day, but it was unsuccessful because the membranes were already bulging. I ended up delivering our daughter, stillborn, at 20 weeks.