Breastfeeding

7 Months - Solids & Breastfeeding & Working Mom

Let me give some background before I ask my question.

I've been breastfeeding my daughter for 7 Months now.  We both really enjoy the closeness... I know because she doesn't fall asleep easily unless I nurse her.  I started solids at 6 Months mainly because the milk I banked over a three month maternity leave period has really dwindled.  I was having trouble keeping up with how much she was eating while I was at work (at times she would consume 16-24 ounces in 8 hours!).  I did pump twice at work and once before bedtime, and would breastfeed her whenever I was at home, but I still coudln't keep up with her.

Fastforward to where we're at now.  She still loves to breastfeed, but is now eating solids three times a day.  I'm able to bank a little more milk this way and still breastfeed her whenever i am home, but i'm worried whether or not she's getting the nutrition she needs from eating solids.  I also don't want her to self-ween before a year.  I'm still pumping three times a day, twice at work, once before I go to bed.  Her feeding routine on a WORKDAY generally looks like this:

4:30am Breastfeed

6:30am Breastfeed

9am Solids - Banana Cereal/Fruit, 4-8oz. bottled breastmilk afterwards

12-1pm Solids - Plain Cereal, Fruit, Veggie, 4-8 oz. bottled breastfmilk afterwards

5pm - Solids - Plain Cereal, Meat, Fruit Veggie, Breastfeeding afterwards

7-8pm - Breastfeed

Can I have opinions on this?  Advice?  I know peole suggest breastfeeding before offering solids, but because she was slow to eat the solids, I reversed the order.  Now she's really enjoying solids.  Should I switch to breastfeed first, solids second?

Shannon

Re: 7 Months - Solids & Breastfeeding & Working Mom