December 2012 Moms

NBR: Need advise please

If anyone on here is an attorney or knows of one can you send me in the right direction?

I came home tonight and found out that, while cleaning the pipes next door, the landlord blew dirty water all over my bathroom.  I'm talking ALL OVER!!!  I'll attach pictures, but really they don't do the mess justice.  It's nasty!!!  People are telling me that I need it professionally cleaned and it's hazardous to our health to do it ourselves.  When I called the landlord he didn't offer to clean it or anything, just said to let him know if the drains were working now.  
imageimageimageimage

We Made A Wish....

And You Came True!

Re: NBR: Need advise please

• Oh, wow.  That's disgusting.

I'm not a lawyer in any way, shape, or form, but can you run a search to see if there's a tenants' rights organization in your area or state???? 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • JessAnnJJessAnnJ member
    edited December 2013
    I'm sorry this happened. This is definitely not legal advice, but as a former tenant that has had apartment issues, I know that as PP said most states have resources for tenants. Sometimes there are handbooks about tenants rights. If your apartment complex is owned by a larger company go there rather than the onsite person. You could always try the local news as well. Sometimes they have numbers you can call and report this type of issue. Also, I don't know what you said to the landlord, but I wouldn't wait for them to offer, I think you need to explicitly ask. Did the landlord actually see the mess? I would also emphasize that you have a young child in your home.

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerAnniversary

• Loading the player...
  • No real advice her, but wow that is awful! I would be livid. Not only does everything need to be cleaned, but you're going to have to replace a lot of stuff!