Orange County Babies

Natural birth at Hoag? or Saddleback?

My husband and I just met our OB Dr. Candace Howe for the first time but when we mentioned that we wanted a natural childbirth, she became distant. Don't get me wrong, she said it was great and verbalized that she supported our decision, but then spent the next couple minutes telling me how just because I take an epidural doesn't make me a failure as a woman...??? and then ran out of the room without answering our other questions. (On a side note, I've no qualms with medicated birth; it's a personal decision.) Awkward.

Has anyone had a natural birth at Hoag? Were you supported or did you have nurses/doctors pressuring you?

We're thinking of switching to Saddleback... the general consensus is that they're more supportive. Any OB recommendations or experiences to share?

Re: Natural birth at Hoag? or Saddleback?

• I'm a FTM so I have no past experience to offer, but I have heard (and read, upon googling statistics for C-sections and interventions) that Hoag and Saddleback and both NOT very natural birth friendly.

I hate the "you're not a failure if you get an epidural" line.

I'm also gunning for a natural birth, but am going to either Mission Hospital where my OB Kathleen Pollock is--who, by the way, has been pretty accepting when I shared my natural birth desires--or, more likely, Palomar Health in Escondido since I live in San Marcos. I work in Lake Forest which is why I opted for an OB close to work, though. Complicated logistics, blah.

Anyway, Mission seems like out of the 3 in the area (Hoag, Saddleback, and Mission) it is statistically lowest in C-sections and interventions. How many weeks along are you?

Good luck!!