May 2014 Moms

Paid maternity leave?

I saw the discussion on jobs and maternity leave and wanted to take it a step further. How common is it for companies to offer paid maternity leave? I'm a newspaper journalist and my company only offers what's covered under FMLA. 12 weeks, unpaid but I can use up my sick time (which isn't a lot). I'm a first-time mom so I have no clue how much time I should take off to physically recover and bond with baby, but the cut to my pay makes me feel like financially I'll have to go back to work sooner than I hoped. Any thoughts?

Re: Paid maternity leave?

• I think it is very hard to generalize what is common. In certain industries (law, finance) almost all firms offer at least some paid mat leave. And I'm surprised your paper offers nothing. My dad works at a paper and it offers 8 weeks paid plus unpaid time under FMLA.
    Pregnancy Ticker 
    DS - 2 years old
  • It depends where you live. In Australia I believe all workplaces offer paid maternity leave if you have been in continuous employment for a year and are employed on a part time of full time basis.
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • I have to use up my sick days. Luckily I have about 40.

BFP #1 March 24, 2010; missed m/c May 26, 2010 @ 12w 4d; D&E May 28, 2010

BFP #2 Oct 20, 2010; My little boy was born on July 5, 2011

BFP #3 April 30, 2013; Chemical Pg May 5, 2013

BFP #4 Aug 22, 2013; It's a boy.  Loss discovered at 24 weeks on Jan 15, 2014 (cause CMV virus)    

<3 We love and miss you Timothy <3

BFP #5 April 6, 2014; missed m/c May 15, 2014 @ 9 weeks; Misoprostol May 15, 2014; D&C May June 3, 2014

• The only paid leave I have is sick days too. 
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Image and video hosting by TinyPic