Stay at Home Moms
Options

How do you guys do it?

Hi there!

I'm sure you guys get this question all the time, but how to you make ends meet financially? I have one year old twin boys and I want to be a SAHM so badly. I currently work part time as a nurse on a busy floor and am often there from 6:30am-8:30 or 9pm. It's only two days a week so I know I can't really complain, but  those days are loooooong. I drop the boys off at 6am and they are in bed by the time I get home. I just feel like I'm missing them grow up. Also my life has no rhyme or reason.

My husband and I sat down yesterday and we are just shy of making enough to have all of our needs covered. I'm planning on working contingent to keep my skills up, but won't be bringing in nearly when I do now.

Here's what we do now:

-shop at Costco and Aldi

-pack lunches

-have officially given up fast food (Oh my gosh I can't even admit what we were spending on it)

Here's what we are considering:

-cloth diapering (Would it be worth it? we go through about 12 diapers a day)

What tips do you ladies have for someone who is looking to take the plunge?

I'm really just looking for some encouragement!

Thanks in advance! :)

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: How do you guys do it?

• Options
    I agree - you have to have extra to spare. You just never know when something will come up and you will need the money. Maybe you could work the next few months and bank your pay checks? That way you'll be able to see if you can actually do it and you'll have a little more set aside if you decide to leave.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options