Natural Birth
Options

How did you choose your birthing method? (Long)

Hello ladies! I haven't really posted here, so I should introduce myself first. I'm Angie. I'm a 30 year old mostly stay at home mom, but I work as a casual RN in hospice too. I just found out that I'm due in June (on my birthday!) and am doing everything possible to prepare for a natural delivery.

Background: With my first, I went in with the attitude of, "if I can't handle it, I'll just get an epidural." I was induced and had back labor, and my epidurals didn't work. The last one numbed me from the thigh to toes on my left side, though, so I couldn't even change positions. It was awful and totally my fault for being absolutely unprepared.

I'm absolutely committed to NUCB this time and am looking into birthing methods. In leaning toward hypnobabies mostly based on my personality as well as my DH a little. I'm a person who prefers to be left alone as much as possible when in pain or performing a difficult task. I don't want to be talked to or touched, I just want to be in the zone and get it over with. I found myself the most comfortable in my last birth shortly after transition, before pushing, when the room was silent and I was breathing as quietly as I could. My DH would step up to be an active coach if I asked, but he's not all that comfortable with the idea.

Sorry that's so long. Basically, I'd just like to know what method you used and if you thought it was a good fit. Also, if you made it through all of that, I'd love to hear if you think I'm leaning in the right direction.

Thank you!!
*E 10/2012, H 7/2014, F 2/2016*
Pregnancy Ticker

Re: How did you choose your birthing method? (Long)

• Options
    For my births I didn't use a particular method. I read up on different relaxation techniques and though through things I might like, like the shower and hot tub, but on the day just did what worked best.

From what I understand of hypnobabies, it does sound like a good fit for you.