July 2014 Moms

First time!

It's my first time pregnant. Can anyone tell me what to expect at my first doctors visit? Is it just blood work? Just ultrasound? What else? I'm already nervous!

Re: First time!

• Im having a partial pelvic exam and an ultrasound. You usually have to pee in a cup and give blood.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker
    BabyName Ticker
  • It really depends on your particular office. Mine has you come in for an initial confirmation of pregnancy (I think just urine, but they might draw blood). Some don't want you to come until like 8 or so weeks and might do some kind of ultrasound. I didn't have an ultrasound until the anatomy scan at like 18 weeks. 

image image
  • Loading the player...
  • I did a urine sample, blood work, a vaginal ultrasound to date the pregnancy and a pap smear (even though I had already had one that year). Like PP said, every doctor is different. You could call the office and just ask them what to expect.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker
  • for mine we aren't supposed to come until 8 weeks and then they do a vaginal ultrasound to confirm the pregnancy and see if it is on track (so be prepared - it's not the belly ultrasound, they actually stick a phallic device into you, sorry if TMI). It will probably be your first glimpse of baby, so exciting!

• At my 8 week mark I will go in for an abdominal ultrasound and speak with the nurse practitioner. They will probably take my urine also since they do that every. single. appointment.

• Is 8 weeks the earliest the doctor will see you?
  • 8 weeks is the earliest mine said they would see me. I just made my appointment on Monday and they scheduled me November 25. It seems so far away!!
  • My OB likes to see you between 7 and 9 weeks. They'll take my urine and take a looksee with the dildo cam. Can't remember if I got blood work or if that was at 12 weeks.

BabyFruit Ticker