April 2014 Moms

NBR: How did you decide to be a teacher?

So I have been thinking that I want to change my career.  Currently, I work for the government and have pretty close to zero job satisfaction.  Growing up, I always, always wanted to be an elementary school teacher but when I got to college and started the classes, I decided it just wasn't for me.  I majored in Psychology instead and am currently doing nothing with that degree ;)  Anyway, while I was furloughed, I sat in on my friends 2nd grade class.  It was very interesting and I enjoyed it but the room was hot and I wasn't drinking as much water as I usually do so I went home with a splitting headache.  So I'm still confused on whether or not this is something I should pursue.  Will I be going home everyday with a splitting headache regardless of the temperature of the room?  It's definitely fear of the unknown that is keeping me from diving in so I thought you guys might be able to shed some light on that! 

What is the good/bad/the ugly that you wish you would have known before becoming a teacher?

Re: NBR: How did you decide to be a teacher?

• My husband is in the process of becoming a teacher. He's always worked with kids (mostly in sports/recreation programs), and decided that he wanted to teach, so he went back to school to get Masters in Education. He's almost done!

Have you considered maybe trying to substitute teach for a semester and see how you like it? Some people get in front of a classroom and realize that it't not for them. For my husband, subbing this semester has really reaffirmed his decision to go into teaching. He loves it, and is really good at it (he's gotten a lot of really positive feedback from other teachers and principals).