Stay at Home Moms

Questions

Hi ladies,
I am on PGAL, and my husband and I are hoping that I can stay at home. In addition to our bio baby, we will be adopting within the next year to year and a half, so it would be great to have me at home. However, he just recently got quotes for their new insurance plans at work, and I have no idea how we are going to go down to one income and pay for insurance. (side note: We are not well-off. Hubby only makes about 51k net per year, and I am a teacher making around 43k)
Would love any budgeting or saving wisdom that you all have!!! What things do you do to make it work?
Jackie (26) & Josiah (28) married December 27, 2009
TTC #1 since August 2011
BFP #1 3/27/12, EDD 12/9/12, Natural miscarriage at 5w2d on 4/7/12
Diagnosed with PCOS 7/1/13
Pursuing adoption from Ethiopia 7/2013-currently on the wait list! 
BFP #2 9/16/13, EDD 5/28/14 Beta #1: 363, Beta #2:876, @ 7w1d Heartbeat:147
Team Pink!

Re: Questions

• you can probably buy your own insurance for much less.  we pay $200/month for a family plan. You will need to find a good insurance agent to get you some quotes.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • While you are pregnant, put your salary completely in savings, and practice living on your H's salary. We did this to make sure it would work.
    photo 3104d09c-3cc7-4177-aed6-da3344fdf17f_zpsbb1f9ce7.jpg

• Loading the player...
  • @JeffandLeslie we are planning to start that in January. We bought a new home in April, and we have still had some high credit card bills from the furniture/decorating we did this summer. In addition, our car needed work in August of about 1k. 

How do you "practice" while factoring in insurance costs?
    TTC #1 since August 2011
    Team Pink!

• @JeffandLeslie we are planning to start that in January. We bought a new home in April, and we have still had some high credit card bills from the furniture/decorating we did this summer. In addition, our car needed work in August of about 1k.