Parenting

Runners/joggers I have a question

I started jogging a few weeks ago and I am a beginner. Aka, I don't jog long distances yet.

Yesterday I did more than usual and my knees hurt. Is that normal? Am I doing something wrong? I feel like if they were going to hurt, they would have hurt when I first started?

Re: Runners/joggers I have a question

• My knees started hurting about a month after I started running. 
    I found that doing a lot of stretching after my run helped. 
    Also, how old are your shoes?  They might not be supporting you enough.
    The Book of Love Has Music in it

• Also, school me on running/jogging.
    Running is different from jogging right?
  • Loading the player...
  • I haven't purchased running shoes yet, I want to see if I stick with it before I invest
  • I'd look at stretching, shoes and form. Running with proper form can save your shins and knees. DH used to be in cross-country so he worked with me on heel strike, gait and how to hold my body.

YouTube probably has some videos.
    DD1 (b. 8/16/2010)
    DD2 (b. 9/04/2013)
    BFP 2/25/12, m/c @ 6w 3d || BFP 8/1/12, m.m/c @ 9w5d
  • The same thing happened to me. My knees and ankles literally ached at night while I was sleeping it was so bad.  I also wore heels at work.   I had to get new shoes and orthopedic insoles and I have limited my high heel wearing.  I haven't had issues since.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Try running on softer surface if possible and GET GOOD SHOES! shoes make all the difference.

imageimage
    Parenting Floozie Brigades official motto:  We welcome to you the board with open legs.  Also, open beers. ~@cinemagoddess

• I'm jogging with a stroller, so what kind of form would I use?
  • Ditto on the shoes. If you can find somewhere that actually looks at your old shoes go determine you running/wear pattern and then recommend shoes based on that, that'd get you your best fit.