VBAC
Options

Intro and Question about previous transverse baby leading to c-section

hi! up until last night I was under the impression that I would not be able to have a VBAC with my second pregnancy because of the law in our state and the malpractice insurance at the hospital I work at (I'm a postpartum nurse and my insurance doesnt allow me to deliver in a different hospital) anyway.....Last night I finally talked to the Doctor that I want to use as my OBGYN and he said that since we now have an in house OBGYN that its not problem to do a VBAC!! OMG I am so happy! I've been planning and have already accepted the fact that I would have to have another CS so this is just great news! My DS is 18 months and we are currently TTC #2. Now for my question....With DS he was breech almost the entire pregnancy and in the last month turned transverse. I still went into labor on my own at 38.2 weeks and dialated to a 7 before i made it to the hospital. They attempted two versions with no success so I ended up with a section. The doctor I talked to said that sometimes a baby is transverse because of the shape of the uterus/fibroids etc...and that an U/S before we get pregnant would help determine if there is an actual problem with my uterus that is preventing head down babies....so has anyone here had a successful VBAC after a transverse baby? THanks and sorry this is long! 
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Intro and Question about previous transverse baby leading to c-section

• Options
    Not transverse, but my DD1 was breech from 30 weeks on and never flipped, scheduled c-section at 38w6d.

DD2 was transverse at 28w, flipped head down at 30w and stayed head down until a successful VBAC delivery at 38w5d.  Water broke on its own and I progressed quickly without any help.  My VBAC dr said that they should have swept my uterus during the c-section and if there was a shape issue with the uterus they would have it in the operative report.

• Options