Natural Birth
Options

Help Me Think This Through - Facing Possible Induction

Alright, so background. I had a "dream" pregnancy - no morning sickness, I'm not "huge" and uncomfortable, I've gained a total of 1 lb. (was overweight to begin with), etc. etc. etc. My baseline BP was somewhere right around 120/80 - already borderline hypertension according to my Dr. I am now 39w1d and my Dr. has been talking about induction since last week b/c my BP has slowly been creeping up. I work in the healthcare field, so you would think that no procedures would bother me, but I do tend to have "high BP" when I'm at the office. I check it at home 3-4x/day and it is sometimes low and sometimes high, just depends on the time I check it. I have no other symptoms (blurry vision, upper gastric pain, swelling, etc.) I've been going in for weekly NSTs x 3 weeks (did 2 at Dr's request this week) - baby is doing great - and have had no issues with protein in my urine (I'm doing another 24 hr urine screen this weekend). I've also had 2 BPP USs to see how baby is doing - have passed them with flying colors and baby is currently "estimated" at about 7 1/2 lbs. I can feel sporadic Braxton Hicks, and today my NST showed contractions 8-10 min. apart, but I wasn't aware of them. My Dr. doesn't like to see any BP with bottom # above 80, but when it's pushing 90, she gets antsy. Mine has really been up and down, but consistently higher than my baseline. In the office on Tuesday, it was 122/86. Today at my NST it got as high as 134/91, but I also had 122/79 and other lower BPs and some in between those #s. She also checked my cervix and I was soft, baby in position and about a fingertip dilated. Today she was reviewing my BPs and is concerned that my BPs seem to be steadily rising - again, they seem to be "rising" when I'm in the office or in a procedure (but really they are all over the place), but are more normal when I check it at home regularly. She is aware of my aversion to being induced (I'm