March 2014 Moms
Options

How to motivate boyfriend?

My boyfriend is about to graduate from college with a bachelors (in the humanities field) in a couple months, but he hasn't started looking for jobs yet. He has heard all these horror stories that it's hard to find a job right away, and even though I heard the same, I started looking about 6 months before I graduated and lined up a job to start one month after I was done (although I have a graduate degree).

I have no doubt that he can find a job after he's done, but I really think he needs to start looking now! He doesn't know what career he wants, so even if he could just decide on a field, I would be happy!

The problem is I can't bring it up to him without making him feel depressed and hopeless that he's not going to get a job by the time I need to take off work to have the baby. How can I encourage him without making it seem like I'm nagging him?

Re: How to motivate boyfriend?

• Options
    lvlichellelvlichelle member
    edited September 2013
    After reading the title to your post the first thing that came to mind was "with sex". Then I read your post and realized that it would be near impossible to motivate him with sex to start looking for a job.. or at least I am not creative enough to think of a way how.

Anyways, I think that if you push him to do something he is not ready to do.. then he may start to have negative feelings towards you about it.. Guys like to make their own decisions without their woman telling them when to do it. I understand your reasoning behind wanting to hurry up the process, with the baby coming and all. In my opinion I wouldn't push him. Maybe you could say something in form of a question to get him in the mindset of thinking about his future career.

Right now probably the only thing that is on his mind is "I am going to be a dad".

BFP #1 10/02/06, EDD 5/1/07 Natural Miscarriage 1 week after BFP

BFP #2 3/28/07, EDD 11/19/07 Natural Miscarriage 2 weeks after BFP