Breastfeeding

Breastfeeds, screams, pacifier, then latches back on....

I've been back to work (I'm a teacher) for a month and half now.  My daughter is four months old.  Obviously, she drinks pumped milk from a bottle while I'm gone during the day, but I breastfeed solely when I'm available.  Within the three weeks I've started having trouble breastfeeding her.  I know she's hungry, but when I try putting her to my breast, she arches away from me even before latching on.  I put the pacifier in (it's the only thing that seems to calm her), then pop it out quickly and put her on my breast instead.  She latches on and drinks a while....then after a few minutes pulls off and starts screaming.  I repeat the cycle.  Each time she drinks for a while and/or I burp her, but I have to rely on the pacifier to get her eat.  I don't feel like she eats as well as she used to, but she's still thriving, according to my pediatrician.  What's going on?  Is it that she prefers the bottle over breast now?  Is it that she is relying or confused by the pacifier?  Or could she be ready for solid food (my pediatrician said I could start now, but I wanted to wait a while longer)?  I really love breastfeeding her and feel it's the healthiest option.  I'd rather hold off on solid food, if possible.

Shannon

Re: Breastfeeds, screams, pacifier, then latches back on....

• Have you read tips on giving a bottle to a breast fed baby? Could it be that they don't do it at day care the way that some babies require to be happy. Things like making bottle last as long as a feeding does.
  • Breast shield? Your nip may not be protruding enough now that she is used to bottles, or your let down is too much. I am not an expert, but have been through the ringer in my two weeks bfing.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Bottle preference is a likely culprit - sounds like she is frustrated that your milk isn't coming fast enough.