August 2013 Moms
Options

Red eye/clogged duct

At my DS's 3 week pediatrician appointment, I was informed my DS has a clogged tear duct. Pedi said it was no big deal, to massage it and apply warm compress. I've been doing these, and for a week or 2 it got better/almost gone. Now, (5 weeks 5 days old) it seems worse. The yellowish discharge is practically constant and now his eye is really red around the outside/on lower and upper lid. No swelling, he doesn't have a fever, and is eating normal. We have a pedi appointment in 4 days for his 6 week checkup. Should I call the off hours dr or just wait for appointment? Could the clogged tear duct have turned into something else??

Re: Red eye/clogged duct

• Options
    I'm not a doctor, but my pediatrician said that as long as the white of the eye wasn't red that it was still just the clogged tear duct.  Never hurts to just call them and ask, I'm sure they get calls about that kind of stuff all the time.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Options
    I've heard a lot of people say to put breastmilk on it when you massage the spot. BM has antibacterial properties and could help. But if he's got discharge that heavy, I'd call. I wouldn't want to risk an infection around the eye.
    This. Exactly
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I've heard a lot of people say to put breastmilk on it when you massage the spot. BM has antibacterial properties and could help. But if he's got discharge that heavy, I'd call. I wouldn't want to risk an infection around the eye.

Except I'm not breast feeding.. Due to a medical condition.
  • Options
    Doesn't hurt to call and ask. My DD3 ended up having to have surgery because it never unclogged.
  • Options