High-Risk Pregnancy

Factor V Leiden Heterozygous

Hi all, 

I'm new to The Bump - as I am just 5 and a half weeks pregnant! After suffering from a blood clot about 8 years ago (superficial vein in leg, not a DVT), I found out that I am positive for the Factor V Leiden (1 gene). Because of my previous blood clot, I've been labeled high risk at my OB-GYN. My hematologist originally recommended that I receive a therapeutic dose of Lovenox while pregnant (which I began just days after finding out I was pregnant). After meeting with her yesterday, to tell her that I was pregnant and that my OB wanted me monitored by my hematologist, my hematologist suddenly said that she read an article or 2 that said a woman in my position does not need doses of Lovenox until post-delivery. I was shocked! At our original meeting, she explained that after many miscarriages, it is discovered that the woman is positive for FVL and once they are put on Lovenox, they are able to carry full-term. I asked her to explain how that would affect my changes of a MC, but she simply gave me a blank stare. She also said that my family history would affect my chances. Although my aunt had a miscarriage, my great aunt had several miscarriages and lost a baby after birth, and another aunt has had many blood clots, she told me that that doesn't matter - only my immediate family (parents, siblings) history mattered. I became visibly upset, as I do not want to miscarry, when I know that I am already at risk, and she told me that it was MY decision and that I should do the research myself to make an educated decision as to whether or not I should continue on the Lovenox throughout my pregnancy. I was appalled, upset, confused, and scared.

Aside from switching hematologists, does anyone have any thoughts on this? Anyone out there FVL + (hetero) with any or no history of clots who can share their thoughts or experiences?

Thanks, 
Susan

Re: Factor V Leiden Heterozygous