Military Families

Gift for someone leaving for Marines

I have no military experience, but my 18 year old nephew is leaving for the Marines in a few days. I assume he can't bring much with him, but I'm looking for suggestions for a gift.  Thanks!
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFetus Ticker

Re: Gift for someone leaving for Marines

• Maybe like a neat digital watch (make sure it's black).  He won't be able to take anything else.   It would be nice to get his mailing address and write letters or send cards while he's at basic training.  You could also clip magazine articles or newspaper articles you think he would like (don't send the whole magazine because he could get in trouble for that early on).  
    imageDSC_9275  image

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Avion22 said:
    Maybe like a neat digital watch (make sure it's black).  He won't be able to take anything else.   It would be nice to get his mailing address and write letters or send cards while he's at basic training.  You could also clip magazine articles or newspaper articles you think he would like (don't send the whole magazine because he could get in trouble for that early on).  
    Do you know if he bring an ipod? Excuse my ignorance...I'd ask his mom, but she is rushing around getting ready for the party ;)

BabyFetus Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Honestly don't send him anything. Pick something nice to congratulate him when he gets back. They issue him everything he needs. MH is a USMC recruiter, and his shipping kids bring their DL, SS card, and a throwaway razor and toothbrush. That's it. 
    I've seen a lot of military surprise homecomings. It wouldn't work on me. I always have my back to the corner and my face to the door. Looking for terrorists, criminals, various other threats, and husbands.
  • catmw21 said:
    Avion22 said: