Preemies

Re: Pumping ?

• I'm no expert but I think within a weeks time that is good. Maybe decrease time you pump? My LC said no more then 15 mins at a time. I am sure everyone has their own guidelines tho. My LC also stressed to make sure the phalanges fit right as it will effect supply too. Just keep going!!! You can do it!
  • Thank u all. Ill definitely try to increase the suction on it. I actually got 60 ml this morning. The girls are up to 32 each this morning though so i was 4 short luckily I had a tiny amount leftover in the fridge and the nicu nurse had just enough for them. She said we may have to supplement soon with formula To keep up the demand of twins.
  • Loading the player...
  • Try to power pump for an hour at night.  I know it can be tough when you come home from the NICU, but it is worth it.  Pump for 10 minutes, take 10 minutes off and repeat for an hour.  This will stimulate production.  I did it most nights of the week until my production came up.
  • carrotcake06carrotcake06 member
    edited August 2013
    It took me about 10 days to catch up w my twins. I did the same as you, every 3 hours for 30 min and got so pitifully little for so many days. It was so defeating bc the NICU kept upping their feeds and I just couldn't keep up. They supplemented w formula, there was nothing I could do.

Eventually around day 10, I caught up w their feeds. What helped me the most was to BF them first for 20-30 min each and then go pump for 30 min. I made a deal w the NICU that they'd bf for half a feed and then get half through their feeding tube. We did this for a couple days and then switched to bf only feeds while I was there w them.

The bf and pump routine consumed my days but I didnt particularly care since it gave me something to do during their NICU stay, you know? Now at home, we EBF and haven't had to supplement at all.

Keep going! You're doing a great job!

• Congratulations on your twins!