Attachment Parenting
Options

Cosleeping

I'm new at cosleeping. DD is now 4 months old and I enjoy cosleeping. Anyway, I have a wedding coming up that's in the evening. My parents are planning on babysitting. How do you go out in the evenings and have other people babysit and get baby to sleep? My DD also nurses on and off during the night.
Daisypath Anniversary tickers Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Cosleeping

• Options
    Emerald27Emerald27 member
    edited August 2013
    Do you plan to spend the whole night away from baby, or just a few hours? We've brought DS to several weddings, and that has gone very well. If you're concerned about leaving LO in the evening, you might want to consider bringing her. If you're going to be away for just a few hours, I'd nurse before you leave and plan to nurse immediately upon your return. I'd also plan to leave one ounce of pumped breast milk per hour you'll be away with your parents. If they give her milk (by bottle, cup, sippy, or spoon) so that she's well fed, then they might be able to wear her as she falls asleep. Being closely snuggled in a carrier is calming, and they could go for a walk...she'd likely fall asleep easily that way. :)
    imageimage
  • Options
    Whoa...TB ate my paragraphs. Sorry for the walk of text! I hope it makes sense...
    imageimage
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    OkieMamaOkieMama member
    edited August 2013
    I just leave a bottle with my mom and she can usually either rock him to sleep (if I'm coming back later that night) or let him sleep in their bed if hes spending the night, just like he would at home. He is around my parents a lot and very comfortable around them, I would add.

ETA: my DS nurses off and on through the night, but I think a lot of that may have to do with being near me and my sent. He typically wakes up once during the night for my mom and she can fix a small bottle and get him back to sleep.

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options