July 2013 Moms
Options

BF Moms who Supplement

So, I had decided to do the whole BFing thing after all (which surprised me as it was NOT a good experiance with DD) I just didn't do it in the hospital, gave him formula there, then when my milk came in at home, I began nursing him. 

So, here's the deal, he's up nearly hourly at night, so last night to get a "break" I gave him formula during the overnight, and nursed him for his first feeding at 8 am today.  Then after he was finished I pumped as well, I got 4 oz!  (that's a lot in one pump session for me).  I will continue to nurse him every 2 hours today. 

I'm no BFing expert, so I'm asking you ladies no one in my family BF, so I've got no resource and the LC at the hospital is a PITA and no help at all, should I not do this, how are you supplementing?  Should I nurse every feeding anyway and then if he still seems hungry feed formula? 

I currently nurse about every 2-3 hrs for 40-60 minutes (20-30 each side), I only give formula during the day if after 60 minutes he's still acting hungry, then I'll give one ounce of formula. At night when DH was off we did 2 nursing sessions and one formula feeding overnight, but now that he's back at work I had just been doing normal nursing sessions, but I was just exhausted after Sunday night, so that was why I did formula only last night (he eats that much faster and I get more sleep) 

My nips just can't take more than 60 minutes nursing and neither can my sanity.

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: BF Moms who Supplement

• Options