Special Needs
Options

Hello Everyone/Heart Surgery ?

Hi!

I am now 31 weeks pregnant with my first baby.  She will be a girl named Amanda and her heart has Truncus.  She will need surgery right after she is born.  I will deliver her at CHOP and we will being staying at the Ronald McDonald house.  I am very scared right now, but I know that she will be in good hands.  Has anyone else dealt with anything like this?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Hello Everyone/Heart Surgery ?

• Options
    I have no experience with this, but you and your daughter are in my prayers. :-)
  • Options

Welcome!

You may want to edit your post title to say something like "Heart Issues" or "Heart Mommies". Some of those moms kinda lurk/visit here on and off. You may get more responses from moms who have been there done that.

WAY 2 Cool 4 School

• Loading the player...
  • Options

Many thoughts and prayers for Amanda. My daughter had 2 heart surgeries at 8 days old. We didn't find out she had heart defects until she was 2 days old. We are lucky enough to live near the hospital where Brynn had heart surgery, so I have no experience with the Ronald McDonald house. It really is amazing what they are able to fix these days! Even though I know it is very scary for your family, it is good that you know now and that everyone is prepared for the surgery. Are you going to try to breastfeed? I felt that for Brynn, it was a huge aid in helping her heal quickly. Are they doing a c-section, induction, or letting things happen naturally?  I am not sure what I might be able to answer for you, but you are not alone. Please feel free to ask me any questions. Lots of love and prayers for Amanda!

-Julie

• Options