Cloth Diapering
Options

s/o laundry...stains ?

So, I was told that EBF runny poop didn't need pre-rinsed before tossing in the washer.  Well, that stuff won't come off for anything!  My prefolds and one pocket are ORANGE.  I'm using the Tide F and C detergent.  I know hanging them outside might help, so I'll try that tomorrow, but anything else I'm doing really wrong??  Obviously, they aren't getting super clean.  I use cold water to wash...is that a no?  Should I be using hot water?  I just realized that while typing.  I just have it set to cold because that's what we always use for clothes... Obviously, I'm new to this. :)

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickersLilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers

Re: s/o laundry...stains ?

• Options

Nope. EBF poop stains like a mofo, you're not crazy. The best thing you can do is a cold rinse with no soap (I run the fast wash cycle once through), then a hot wash with soap, and a rinse (whatever your machine sets to do). Some stains will come out that way, but not everything. Sunning is really the way to go. Particularly stubborn stains can get a spritz of water/lemon juice mixture before being set out. Just make sure whatever you're laying out is soaking wet when you do it. As it dries, the stain will fade.

This is a Grovia insert and a Rumparooz pocket that Ginny all but destroyed. 

Two hours in the sun and voila!

I don't sun every single time I have a stain - maybe once every week or two. Too much sun can break down PUL and elastic like the dryer can. 

"I wanted you more than you'll ever know, so I sent love to follow wherever you go."

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersLilypie Second Birthday tickers

image Follow Me on Pinterest

Ginny DX 21-Hydroxylase Deficiency Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia

Charlie DX Specific Antibody Deficiency & ASD

• Options