Blended Families
Options

NBFR: need interview attire advice

I'm an interior designer by trade.  So I have gone to interviews in non traditional interview clothes that diverge from the safe and boring office suit and in my profession, you can get away with that.

Typically, I wear neutral based clothing with a fun punch of color. 

For tomorrow, I have a very classic, simple pencil skirt dress, all black, belted in the middle that I am wearing.  My question is the shoes.  I found a great pair of leopard print heels.   Is that too much? 

It's the only little surprise. I'd be very classic, very clean, very professional head to ankle, and then boom. Yowza. Leopard print.

I like a little punch. Just a little.  But is that too much? Or is it a nice amount of  fun?

I'm interviewing with a man that's in his mid 30's if that helps. I know... a little sexist of me, but hey.  It helps to know your audience.

TIA!

"he offered her the world. she said she had her own" - poet Monique Duval

Re: NBFR: need interview attire advice

• Options

What type of job are you interviewing for?  Are you staying in the "arts" world?  

I have to admit, I interview and hire people, and appearance matters - but leopard print shoes wouldn't bother me, actually, I would probably like them and ask you where you got them.

I'm usually turned off by body odor, unkept hair, inappropriate clothing (jeans, tanks, too sexy, too casual), and overall attitude (I hate slouching and gum chewing).

I say go for it - it sounds nice and I love shoes!   

• Options

You sound like you have passion and love for your career.

I'm so happy and excited for you.

I'm SUPER conservative and boring so yeah Leopard print would be over the top for me, but you could very well pull it off. Is this the place your friend works at?

I'd ask her for her opinion since she is probably more in tune with what the opinions would be there.

Good Luck to you!!!

• Loading the player...
  • Options