December 2010 Moms

mom vent -- LONG

Ugh, my mom made me cry tonight...I know I'm just hormonal, but it really irritated me. 

Background -- we live ~800 mi from both my parents and DH's, who live in different locations. We also live a 5 hr drive from my sister and her family. I'm 6-7 mo pregnant and will not be able to travel soonish. However, I am a professor who just started my summer in the beginning of this month. We wanted to travel to visit people while we still have the chance (we know we won't be able to again for a long time), so we decided to be crazy and make this month strenuous in terms of travel. For three weekends in a row we saw DH's parents, then mine (both were flights), and then my sister's family. 

Unfortunately I contracted a cold just before the first trip. It wasn't that bad, but it relapsed during the second trip while we were seeing my parents and that worried them and put a damper on the visit. It got a lot better just after that trip. As for DS, he is ridiculously adaptable, but he is still 2. His attitude toward the travel was 100% positive -- he was dying to see all of these people and loved going on the airplanes, etc -- but he sometimes missed 1-3 hrs of sleep within a 24 hr period due to nap or nighttime disruption. So he got cranky sometimes during a visit and/or the day afterward.