Single Parents
Options

Those who are 'okay'/friends with BD now

Since I am new to this whole single parent thing. I'm just wondering I've seen some of you have posted about having good relationships with your XH's and BD's. Right now I feel like myself and STBXH will never be there. STBXH just packed his bags and walked out. He has said some aweful and hurtful things. He also seems motivated very much so by money right now.

Just wondering how you cope? How did you maintain/have such a great relationship? Is it possible? 

Lilypie First Birthday tickers BFP # 1 - June 2nd, 2011 - EDD Feb 5, 2012 Birthday Feb 10, 2012 BFP # 2 - Jan 19, 2012 - EDD Sept 24, 2013 - CP Jan 24, 2012

Re: Those who are 'okay'/friends with BD now

• Options
    I don't know about the other ladies but my first step was lots and lots of therapy! LOL. My XH had an affair when our son was 9 months. When I discovered it and confronted him he told me "I thought it was okay because our marriage was over." Keep in mind we just had a kid but there was no increase in fighting, no discussion of problems, nada, just one day he apparently decided he was done and oops forgot to mention it. That was followed by 6 months of game playing, more infidelity, and lots of lying...all by him of course.

Let's just say that I, too, didn't see how I was going to be able to coparent with him. I was so hurt and so mad. And then it just started clicking for me. Obviously I had married the wrong man, but better I found out sooner than later. And I honestly would not have changed marrying him because I love my son that much. So no use dwelling on that. And that was most of it.

I read a lot of books on divorce and coparenting. I'll get you a list if you want. One of them pointed out that you have to give up on "fair" because divorce is never fair and look at it like a business arrangement for the benefit of your child.