Pregnant after 35
Options

First Tri Screening Results - meh

My dr called to say that my first tri screening blood work results are showing an elevated risk for downs.  1:60.  Yea, it's high but I am 38 years old so not super surprising.  He recommended that I have genetic counseling to discuss further testing.  Luckily I already set up that appointment, because of my age. 

At my NT scan the tech told me that my measurement was 1.6 and I know that anything over a 3 is a red flag.  That is helping to calm my nerves.

I am currently a special education teacher who specializes in moderate/severe disabilities and the thought of downs shouldn't be all that scary, but suddenly it kinda is.  I have taught many, many students with downs.  I know that my students live full and productive lives.  Often more full and productive than their typical peers ;)  I am just nervous because I had certain dreams and plans for this child and I may have to changes those.

So I don't really have a question, but I would love to hear if anyone is going through or has gone through the same thing.  Also, I need some good vibes sent my way.

Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: First Tri Screening Results - meh

• Options
    Geeps2Geeps2 member
    I haven't gone through this but a good friend of mine did and her risk was 1 in 20 and during her NT scan it showed shadows on the heart which is a soft marker.  Her son is almost 2 and absolutley perfect.  Good Luck I bet this is just one of those false alarms.

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Options