Military Families

New To All Of This... Need Help & Advice

This is my first time posting. So hello everyone! 

Let me give the background. So me & my boyfriend. Are currently in an ldr. He isnt deployed but we are away because of a few reasons. He has been traveling within the states for work & i am "home" where i am from to deal with family stuff. I lost 2 close family members the past 4-5 months. (but thats besides the point not looking for sympathy)

So up until now i kinda have just avoid talking about the whole subject of the military. I was raised in a very anti-military family. So I dont know much except what i have learned from him.

I will go back to where he is in Sept at the earliest. But Feb at the latest.

I want to marry him. He wants to marry me. We are so in love with each other. But i have NO idea what im getting myself into. We are planning on getting married some time next year. Not sure when. Probably depends if he gets deployed & stuff like that. 

He gets out in 2 years. That I can handle. But lastnight he says "IF i dont extend" It really caught me off guard because thats the first I heard of that. I honestly dont know if i can handle 5 years.

So i decided that i probably should finally start looking into things & talk to people & read stuff before i do marry him & get into this relationship not knowing what im getting myself into.

So honestly I could take ANY & and ALL advice. 

He also has 2 boys & an ex wife if that changes anything. 

I see a few things on this board such as tricare. what is that? 

Thanks In Advance To Everyone Who Responds & Even Just Reads This!

Re: New To All Of This... Need Help & Advice