March 2012 Moms
Options

Weaning

Ok, ladies.  I think it might be time to wean DD.  We're down to morning, before bed, and sometimes once in the MOTN.  The problem is that I have no idea how to go about weaning her.  How did you guys do it?  Did you cut down on the amount of time each day until you weren't nursing any more?  How long did it take?  If you nursed at bedtime, how did you adjust your bedtime routine? 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Weaning

• Options

We're still nursing once at bedtime, so I'm no help there.  I'm a teacher and finishing up the school year, so once I'm done I'm going to work on fully weaning DS and getting him to fall asleep without nursing at bedtime.  He does it at naptime, so I'm hoping it won't be TOO difficult..we'll see :P

As for the other sessions, the daytime sessions weren't difficult to drop.  The MOTN one was sort of tough.  Mostly, what happened was I stopped offering during the night.  I'd give him his pacifier and rock him or soothe him in some other way and he'd go back to sleep.  If that doesn't work with your DD, can you have your H go in if she wakes in the MOTN?  I know that wouldn't have worked for us but it seems to work for a lot of moms...

The morning session took longer.  I gradually reduced the amount of time he nursed down to just a few minutes, then started offering breakfast pretty much right away.  For several mornings, I'd either lay on the couch with him on my lap or sit in the rocker with him and give him a little bit of BM in a sippy (which I gradually moved to cow's milk).  I think this really helped him transition because there was still some of the closeness similar to nursing before starting the day, and a little bit of milk so he wasn't SUPER hungry and really looking to nurse.  It took a while but I think the morning weaning went really well.  Now, we just go pretty much right into breakfast.