Military Families

San Diego vs Mayport

My husband will be going active duty Navy in August as a JAG. We have the choice of going to San Diego or Mayport. We are both from Ohio and will have a 2 mo old. I'm also a physical therapist and would like to resume working part time in January. Any helpful suggestions?

Re: San Diego vs Mayport

• San Diego is amazing!! We are stationed about 5 hours north of SD and I would give anything to move down there. Housing in SD is expensive, so that may be the first thing you want to compare. I think you would be able to continue working in both places. California is nice because there is so much to do. You can drive to the mountains in just a few hours and there are so many great places to see along the coast. My husband and I are both from the Midwest and we were in FL for flight school before moving to CA. I think you would be happy with both.

Most people don't get a choice, so you are lucky you have time to do some research before you decide!

Good luck!
  • We're stationed about 2 hours from SD. We go down there a good bit since we have a lot of friends in that area. There is a ton of stuff to do and the area is pretty. Housing is pretty costly. That's not really what would bother us, though. It's the expense of traveling to visit home. Plane tickets to PA, where we are from, are quite costly. I'm not sure how they would compare if you lived in FL or if that is even a concern of yours but, it's been weighing on our minds lately.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...