Homeschooling

Non-religion based elementary curriculums? (Oak Meadow anyone?)

Hello everyone! I am totally new to this board, so I thought I would introduce myself and ask my question is the same post. My name is Rebecca, and my husband Dan and I have a four year old daughter named Basil. We live in Oregon on what we like to call an "Urban Farm" (which is really just a city lot where we grow a huge garden and keep chickens and ducks.)

I am a student (third year)working towards my teaching degree, and plan to teach elementary school, most likely K-1. Basil has been in a Reggio Inspired preschool for the past year, and we liked it, though I really love the philosophy more than the actual implementation of it at that specific school. We are looking into public schools in our city, and are looking at having to move to a different neighborhood (which we can't *really* afford) just to get her into a good school district, since the neighborhood school assigned to our house is just awful. But I've been looking into the better schools in the city, and even in those, it seems like Basil wouldn't be getting the kind of schooling I always wanted her to have. Seems public schools are a LOT more focus on test scores and the like and a lot less focused on the whole child, arts, music, etc. This SCARES me! I went to a crappy public school that was very test score based, with very little in the way of arts education and similar experiences, and I feel that even in my college work, I have not used half of the things I "learned" in school as a child/teen.