Working Moms
Options

Anyone work 3rd shift?

Hi ladies.  This is my first time posting here.

I've just been offered a full time RN position. Five nights a week, 11p-7A.  Really, the shift is the worst part about it.  Everything else about this job is awesome, and as a new grad RN I would be stupid to turn it down.  But I'm having horrible anxiety already about a daily schedule.  DH and I have already decided that we will utilize daycare for DD.  I will need more than just napping when she does, especially as I'm lucky to get a two naps out of her anymore.  

I'm curious as to how others who work this shift make it work with their LO's.  When do you sleep?  When do you see LO or DH? 

My first thought is this: DH will take DD to daycare in the morning.  I come home and sleep 6-8hrs.  I will pick DD up around 3-4. Then just spend that time with her until she goes to bed around 8.  I will leave for work around10/1015. 

That sounds like the easiest maybe? But I'm curious as to how others do it.  

TIA!!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Anyone work 3rd shift?

• Options
    I used to work swing shift back during college, I think your plan sounds great. But does your schedule rotate? That will be rough to work years of. Like in 2 years can you do day shift etc?
  • Options

I'm not a nurse and I don't work nights but I had a gf who did it for 10 years or so with 3 kids. Hers was a bit differen situation since she worked 3 12 hour shifts, but she really liked it. She felt it was great until #3 and then she just couldn't do it anymore. She went to days a few weeks ago. Her 3rd child just turned 1. So, it can be done! Good luck! Oh, and she did not have daycare. To this day I tell her I think she is amazing! Also, she worked in the NICU. Crazy!  

• Loading the player...
  • Options