Health & Exercise

Gym daycare question

I feel like this is a really stupid question, but I'm going to ask it anyway.

We just signed up for a gym that has childcare. I'm a SAHM and DS has only been babysat by his grandparents, so I have no experience dealing with day care or paid sitters.

Today I went to drop DS off at gym daycare for the 1st time and he flipped out crying. I spent nearly 10 minutes trying to get him to play with toys or other kids, I finally had him distracted enough that I went to sneak out. The second I was out the door I could hear him start crying. I was about to go back in and get him and say eff the workout today when the gym manager walked by and said "just go, it's harder for them than it is for you and we'll call you if he doesn't stop". So I left. 45 minutes later I picked him up and he was playing just fine and didn't look like he'd been crying recently.

I guess my question is, should I have even spent that time trying to calm him down? Do you just leave if your LO is crying and tell the sitter to call you if he doesn't stop (that's the policy at our gym's daycare)? I kind of got the impression that the sitter was fine if I left, but she didn't make an effort to pick him up or play with him right away (which was fine, there were other kids there). WWYD in this situation?

I want this to be a positive thing for DS since he doesn't get much socialization. Thanks for reading my novel of a post Wink

One direction photo: One Direction gif onedirectiongifmacarenaey_zpsbdaf903f.gif
DS born 3.12 
DD born 7.14

Re: Gym daycare question

• I think its normal behavior around that age. They will cry for a few mins and be fine a few mins later. Its new to them, but sounds like LO did fine Good news is you are super close.
  • imagetilsonc:
    I think its normal behavior around that age. They will cry for a few mins and be fine a few mins later. Its new to them, but sounds like LO did fine Good news is you are super close.