Working Moms
Options

Dealing with highly active job during pregnancy...

Uh... hi. *waves* I'm 27, I'm a restaurant manager. I do not currently have any children, but since my question specifically has to do with my career and pregnancy, I figured I would ask it here. 

Being a restaurant manager involves being pretty flipping active all the time. My shifts can run from 9 to 12 hours at a time, 5 days a week.  I have a regular schedule, but it's two morning shifts and three night shifts...so no regular sleep schedule.

My problem is that I am horribly tired, all the time. Sometimes it's all I can do to drag myself out of the chair in my office to do a minimal round in the front. It doesn't help that eggs are grossing me out right now, and I work in a diner...so walking through the server aisle makes me want to hurl.

I am the breadwinner in my family. I have to keep this job, but I am increasingly worried that I will not be able to keep up to standards and will be let go.  I've been keeping myself hydrated and eating healthily, but I don't get a lunch so I can't take a nap...which is the one thing I really think would help.

I know at least a few people on this site must be/have been in a similar situation. How did/do you handle it? Did the world ever seem to turn gray to you when you realized how much longer you had to stay on your feet, or is that just me?

My employer knows I'm pregnant, so if there's help I could get from them, please, please tell me. I already feel like I'm majorly inconveniencing them so I've hesitated to ask for anything at all.  

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Dealing with highly active job during pregnancy...

• Options