One & Done: Only child
Options

GTKY: Do you work outside the home?

It seems like a lot of moms on here cite "more time to focus on one child" or "not enough time for activities for more than one," which made me wonder if most of us are SAHMs or WMs.

I'm a lawyer and with my current job, which I love and plan on being at for as long as possible, I cannot fathom having enough energy for two kids when I come home and enough time to focus on each of them on the weekends.  L just started swim classes this weekend and between getting everyone ready, the lesson and getting back and changed, fed and put down for a nap that was over two hours of our day!  I also want to progress further in my career and am not sure I could do that with all the attention that two kids need.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: GTKY: Do you work outside the home?

• Options

I have a full time office job. I don't love it but I know I'll be there everyday to pick up DD by 5:30, I never get called off hours or on weekends, the benefits are great and the people are friendly.

Even with that ease, I'm not sure how I'd have the time or energy for more than one.

• Options

I am a graphic designer. I've been with my current company for 5 years and in my field for 12. I absolutely love what I do and hope to be with this company for a very long time.

We have such a good groove down on weekdays. I work M - F and DD and I are on our own most evenings. My husband works late most days during the week, but is off on Wednesdays so he stays home with DD that day and I even get to go to a yoga class in the evening. I feel like I have the best of all worlds right now and I wouldn't want to upset that balance.

I cannot imagine working all day and then having to take care of two by myself in the evening. No thanks. 

We started swim class on the weekend the other week! DD LOVES it!

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options