Secondary IF

How do you deal...

...with people who constantly ask you when you're going to have another? I'm a teacher so I get the looks (I feel like more people look at my midsection than my eyes), the frantic questions or the pestering comments, "Come on already, it's time for another!" or even permission, "Okay you've taught all my kids. You are allowed to have a baby now." I don't want to be rude and shut them down by telling them we're trying (and failing), but I don't want to lie and say we're waiting.

My friend who doesn't have any kids yet told me that she got tired of people asking her when she and her husband were going to start their family (they've been married 3 years) and she responds by saying they don't want any kids (even though it's not true). She says it shuts them up and people stop asking her. I'm afraid if I said that, the next month I'd end up pregnant and people would think that the baby was a mistake. Why do I care what people think?!?

Any thoughts? 

DH & I: 29
TTC #1 4/2009 -  DD 2/5/10
TTC #2 since October 2011
2IF issues
7/2013 - IUI #1: 50 units Follistim +  Ovidrel  = BFN
8/2013 - IUI #2: 50 units Follistim +  Ovidrel  = BFP! Beta #1 (12 dpiui) 8/21: 45  Beta #2 (16 dpiui) 8/26: 301 Beta #3 (21 dpiui) 8/30: 1,929. 1st Ultrasound 9/4 - One perfect sac. 2nd Ultrasound 9/13 - Heartbeat at 124 bpm! Anniversary  

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: How do you deal...

• I know what you mean. When we walk around with dd and people always ask do you want another? When are you making her a little brother or sister? 

I do not like it, it always reminds me of our efforts and that they are failing. I just say we are working on it.  i think is something people think they should be asking. I do not know, but I hate it. I do not handle it well at all.

So I do not have any suggestions for you, but just wanted to say I relate.

Best of luck  

BabyFruit Ticker
  • kofmkgkofmkg member