Working Moms
Options

any freelancers out there?

I am sorry, I am not sure if this should go in SAHM board or this board (its kind of in between). I have been trying so hard to convince my husband that it would make more financial sense for me to stay at home once the DD2 is born and freelance. I have a degree in graphic design and have 6+ years experience, so I know what I am doing. We live in a city of about 60k people, plus surrounding towns a bit smaller, but there are a lot of great networking groups/events that I could go to. Right now DH works either 2 or 3 days during the week (M-F) plus every other weekend (12 hour days, so he is FT). DD1 is in daycare only 3 days a week, but when we add DD2 to daycare once she is old enough about 1/2 my paycheck will go to daycare. with DHs schedule, I feel that I could easily have time to freelance and go to the networking groups I need to go to and not have to put our children in daycare and to be where we are at currently for my pay, (after subtracting daycare costs), I really wouldn't need to be making a lot. I understand that freelancing isn't guaranteed money and some months may be hard while other months could be great, but this is something I really want to do. sorry, this isn't really a question, more of a WWYD/vent. 

Re: any freelancers out there?

• Options

I do some freelancing on the side but also have a steady paycheck from a PT job, so I juggle both.  I have been doing the freelancing thing since 2011 and here is my 2 cents:

(1) I have found it to be very inconsistent.  Jan/Feb I only had about 10 hours of work each month and then last month I had two projects presented to me at the same time, both of which needed a quick turnaround.  So there was a lot of juggling to get about 45 hours of work into one week, and now I have just one thing on the horizon.