Food & Nutrition

Anyone garden?

This is my first year I want to make a valiant effort in starting my own garden.  I really have yet to purchase any materials or tools (we do have a tiller, though).  I need HaLp!1!!!!111!!!

We have two areas formerly gardened from previous owners, but they've been taken over by a little bit of grass, a splash of leftover flowers, and a whole lotta weeds.  

I would like to plant a flower garden in one area and the other dedicated to veggies and herbs.

My ideal veggie garden would have carrots, potatoes, broccoli, tomatoes, and green beans.  I'm not sure what herbs I'd prefer yet.

Can I get some insight on your tool necessities and whether to buy certain veggies in seed versus plant? Also, what plants and flowers do you enjoy planting for low maintenance?

imageimage
Parenting Floozie Brigades official motto:  We welcome to you the board with open legs.  Also, open beers. ~@cinemagoddess

Re: Anyone garden?

• Depending on your area,  you're probably too late for broccoli. That's a winter veggie.  However, kale will grow here even in the hottest months.  Go figure.  Potatoes are also a winter one here, but if you're up North, they can go

BFP#1 4/17/10...EDD 1/6/11...M/C 5/28/10 BFP#2 11/19/10...EDD 8/4/11 Squeaker born 7/30.
  • Thank you!  I'm in Iowa, so we have some primo soil and longer planting season.  I appreciate your input!

imageimage
    Parenting Floozie Brigades official motto:  We welcome to you the board with open legs.  Also, open beers. ~@cinemagoddess

• Loading the player...
  • I grow hot peppers, sweet peppers, basil and rosemary as in large planters.  I buy the plants after the last frost.  We also just moved to a new house with garden areas.  I am taking one for veggies.  I am going to do all of the above
  • M0ONM0ON member