Attachment Parenting

Will a 2-week work trip ruin my relationship with LO?

I'm not sure I've ever posted on this board before, but I lurk a lot and really love what I learn from you all. I consider myself AP, but I'm not an expert by any means and I'm looking for some input.

Anyway, so like the title says, I'm supposed to go on a 2-week work trip in August and my DS will only be 21 months old at the time. I work from home for a travel company and I am supposed to lead a group I have put together. I used to go for 1-2 months at a time before DS came along, so it's technically not a lot for the company to ask of me. I was originally planning to bring DH and DS along, but I would have to pay for them and it's just too expensive. Currently, DS and I have an absolutely wonderful relationship. I'm sure we will have our challenging moments down the road, but right now he's pretty much happy 100% of the time, very loving and cuddly, and everything to me. The only problem is that he is extremely attached to me compared to DH as poor DH has to travel Monday through Thursday every single week, so DS only sees him on weekends. They are close, but more in a fun way than a nurturing way. I am currently still nursing twice a day, and I have not spent the night away from him yet at all.

My question is: how detrimental will this work trip be to our relationship? 2 weeks seems like ages for such a young child. I'm honestly scared that he will not remember who I am. I'm also scared that he will not "need" me anymore and that aspect of our relationship will be changed forever. Right now, I love that cuddles from me solve every problem and I am worried that I will lose that touch. Has anyone else been in my position? Can anyone point me to any information about the effect my absence will have on him? Will he be harmed by this? Maybe I'm a worrywart spaz, but I can't help dwelling on it.

BabyFetus Ticker
It's a BOY!

CafeMom Tickers